Peter Osypka Institute for Pacing and Ablation

Medical technology has an ever increasing importance both economically and for health care. The Peter-Osypka-Institute for Medical Technology at the University of Applied Sciences Offenburg is dedicated to the research and development of products with medical purpose, which are intended for human application. Projects are often carried out in cooperation with national and international companies.

Working groups:

  • Surgical navigation and augmented reality (Prof. Harald Hoppe)
  • Electrostimulation and Ablation (Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Tobias Haber)
  • Cardiovascular Medical Technology and Rhythmology (Prof. Matthias Heinke)
  • NeuroAcoustics (Prof. Stefan Zirn)
  • NeuroScience (Prof. Andreas Otte)

History

With the endowed professorship for biomedical engineering established in 2008, Prof. Dr. Peter Osypka, the founder of radiofrequency catheter ablation, showed himself to be a generous supporter and partner of the Offenburg University of Applied Sciences. He created the basis for the establishment of the medical technology degree program. On his initiative, the Peter Osypka Institute for Pacing and Ablation was established in June 2011. Its director was Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Bruno Ismer. With his extraordinary commitment, his many years of experience in university cardiology, as well as the procurement of numerous high-quality medical devices and his contacts to industrial and clinical partners, he has brought research to life and shaped an emphatically practice-oriented education.

The tasks of the institute focused on the development of methods and medical technology for the diagnosis and therapy of cardiac diseases, especially in the fields of clinical electrophysiology, electrostimulation and ablation. Examples include the development of a special external pacemaker for the treatment of life-threatening cardiac tachycardia in babies, pilot studies for a novel catheter set for ablation therapy of ventricular tachycardia, and a computerized demonstration board for didactic teaching of the propagation of excitation in the heart during arrhythmias and during pacemaker therapy.

The institute's expertise in these areas was used by physicians, medical staff and employees of medical technology companies in numerous training events. In addition to theory, it always offered intensive practical training under the motto "learning through experimentation". The teaching concept practiced here for pacemaker and defibrillator therapy as well as for high-frequency catheter ablation was awarded a fellowship for "Innovations in University Teaching" by the Baden-Württemberg Foundation.

To create adequate working conditions at the institute, Osypka AG donated the construction of a research building on the university campus in 2012. In the new building, which was handed over in 2017, proprietary room concepts for specialized learning environments were implemented in the four laboratories, enabling multifunctional use for the institute's research and teaching.  By 2020, three former medical engineering master's graduates of the university or institute staff members used this environment to complete their doctoral theses. The close cooperation with our clinical, academic and industrial partners is also essential. They guarantee the current transfer of knowledge and technology from research to teaching. The close cooperation with Prof. Dr. med. Juraj Melichercik from the nearby MediClin Heart Center in Lahr/Baden, and with Prof. Dr. med. Nikolaus Haas from the Ludwig Maximilian University Hospital in Munich and with Prof. Dr. Eva Maria Bitzer from the Freiburg University of Education proved to be particularly valuable.

Further information can be found on the POIM homepage

www.poim.hs-offenburg.de

Foto Gebäude des POIM: bernhardstrauss.com

Peter Osypka Institute for Pacing and Ablation

Die Medizintechnik hat sowohl wirtschaftlich als auch für die Gesundheitsversorgung eine immer weiter steigende Bedeutung. Das Peter-Osypka-Institut für Medizintechnik der Hochschule Offenburg ist der Forschung und Entwicklung von Produkten mit medizinischer Zweckbestimmung, die für die Anwendung beim Menschen bestimmt sind, gewidmet. Häufig werden Projekte in Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen und überregionalen Unternehmen durchgeführt.

Arbeitsgruppen:

  • Chirurgische Navigation und Augmented Reality (Prof. Harald Hoppe)
  • Elektrostimulation und Ablation (Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Tobias Haber)
  • Kardiovaskuläre Medizintechnik und Rhythmologie (Prof. Matthias Heinke)
  • NeuroAkustik (Prof. Stefan Zirn)
  • NeuroScience (Prof. Andreas Otte)

Historie

Mit der 2008 eingerichteten Stiftungsprofessur für biomedizinische Technik zeigte sich Prof. Dr. Peter Osypka, der Begründer der Hochfrequenz-Katheterablation, als großzügiger Förderer und Partner der Hochschule Offenburg. Er schuf die Grundlage für den Aufbau des Studiengangs Medizintechnik. Auf seine Initiative hin wurde im Juni 2011 das Peter Osypka Institute for Pacing and Ablation ins Leben gerufen. Seine Leitung übernahm Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Bruno Ismer. Mit seinem außergewöhnlichen Engagement, seiner langjährigen Erfahrung aus der Universitätskardiologie sowie der Vermittlung zahlreicher hochwertiger medizinischer Geräte und seinen Kontakten zu industriellen und klinischen Partnern hat er die Forschung lebendig gestaltet und eine betont praxisnahe Ausbildung geprägt.

Die Aufgaben des Instituts fokussierten auf die Entwicklung von Methoden und Medizintechnik zur Diagnostik und Therapie von Herzerkrankungen, insbesondere auf die Bereiche klinische  Elektrophysiologie, Elektrostimulation und Ablation. Beispiele hierfür sind die Entwicklung eines speziellen externen Herzschrittmachers zur Behandlung lebensbedrohlichen Herzrasens bei Babies, Pilotstudien für ein neuartiges Katheterset zur Ablationstherapie bei Herzkammerrasen bis hin zu einem computerisierten Demonstrationsboard zur didaktischen Vermittlung der Erregungsausbreitung im Herzen bei Rhythmusstörungen und während einer Schrittmachertherapie.

Die Institutskompetenz auf diesen Gebieten wurde von Ärzten, medizinischem Personal und Mitarbeitern medizintechnischer Firmen in zahlreich gestalteten Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen genutzt. Diese boten neben der Theorie stets ein intensives praktisches Training unter dem Motto "Studieren durch Experimentieren". Das hier praktizierte Lehrkonzept zur Herzschrittmacher- und Defibrillatortherapie sowie zur Hochfrequenz-Katheterablation wurde von der Baden-Württemberg-Stiftung mit einem Fellowship für "Innovationen in der Hochschullehre" ausgezeichnet.

Zur Schaffung adäquater Arbeitsbedingungen am Institut stiftete die Osypka AG im Jahr 2012 die Errichtung eines Forschungsgebäudes auf dem Campus der Hochschule. In dem 2017 übergebenen Neubau wurden in den vier Laboren eigene Raumkonzepte für spezialisierte Lernumgebungen realisiert, die eine multifunktionale Nutzung für die Forschung und Lehre des Instituts ermöglichten.  Bis 2020 nutzten drei ehemalige Medizintechnik Master-Absolventen der Hochschule bzw. Institutsmitarbeiter diese Umgebung zum Abschluss ihrer Promotionsschrift. Essenziell waren auch dabei die engen Kooperationen zu unseren klinischen, akademischen und industriellen Partnern. Sie garantierten den aktuellen Wissens- und Technologietransfer von der Forschung in die Lehre. Besonders wertvoll erwies sich die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Melichercik vom nahegelegenen MediClin Herzzentrum in Lahr/Baden, mit Prof. Haas vom Klinikum der Ludwig Maximilians Universität München sowie mit Frau Prof. Bitzer von der Pädagogischen Hochschule Freiburg.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Homepage des POIM
www.poim.hs-offenburg.de

Foto Gebäude des POIM: bernhardstrauss.com